Templete de la Cruz del Campo




Century XV




This temple square plan opens up on all four sides and has pointed arches. It is covered with a canopy of cloth on tubes, on which there is an inscription in Gothic characters. It is topped with battlements. It is made of brick, and is covered with a plaster of lime and sand mortar. Inside the column stands on a cross from the sixteenth century; Juan Bautista Vázquez made the piece. The whole piece stands on a podium stand.

Historic Facts

The Temple of the Cross Country was built by order of the Assistant Sevilla Don Diego de Merlo in 1482, in commemoration of the ruined Roman aqueduct known as the "Canos de Carmona", which brought water to Seville from this nearby town. For years it was the end of the Via Crucis which was held at the Holy Week in Seville. It was restored in 1959 and 2007.

Description of the Environment

Luis Montoto Avenue is a historic route of entry to the city, its origins dating back to the Roman period. In the Middle Ages it was marked primarily by the aqueduct, which part of the important aqueduct remains. The main landmark is el Templete de la Cruz del Campo, linked to holding relevant religious ceremonies. Its construction began in the thirties, highlighting it at first for its commercial and industrial purposes. Today, it is a heavily trafficked area.

Asset Valuation

It is certainly the most iconic and important shrines in Seville. This is an exceptional Moorish work of art, and it was declared a BIC Monument in 1964.